Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2192328 - 09/12/18 04:48 PM Escrow Shortages
MusicCityCRCM Offline
100 Club
Previously, we did not allow customers to pay the necessary shortages to keep their escrow payments the same year to year. The customer does not want their monthly loan payment to change, so they request to pay the shortage so that their monthly escrow portion of the payment will the same.

Our escrow analysis person has been told it is okay to allow customers to pay the extra money so that they can keep their monthly payment the same each year. Our COO says this would be an issue because we would have more money in the escrow account than we were allowed to collect.

I am still learning the escrow requirements and am having trouble determining what the correct process should be.

Return to Top
RESPA
#2192391 - 09/12/18 10:31 PM Re: Escrow Shortages MusicCityCRCM
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
If they have a shortage - how would they have more in the account that allowed, if they make that payment? They would only be bringing their beginning balance to what it should be - of course you would have to run a new analysis.

Return to Top
#2192434 - 09/13/18 02:14 PM Re: Escrow Shortages MusicCityCRCM
MusicCityCRCM Offline
100 Club
I should have clarified; I'm referencing instances when the customer's payments would have increased due to an increase in taxes or insurance, thus increasing their monthly payment.

For example, a customer's payments went up and made their base payment change from $100 to $120 a month. They also had a shortage which resulted in an increase of $20 a month to their new escrow base payment. Their new monthly escrow payment would be $140 and their cushion would be $280. They don't want their monthly loan payment to change, so they request to pay the shortage of $240 plus an additional $240 so that their monthly escrow portion of the payment will stay $100.