Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2202700 - 01/11/19 01:57 PM Reg E Dispute Timeframe Question
mdog76 Offline
Platinum Poster
I'm new to the world of Reg E and disputes and have a question:

When does the 10 day clock for provisional credit begin when at the time of the dispute the only charge on the account in the pre-authorized amount and not the actual charge i.e. paying for gas at the pump. Does the clock begin when the dispute is made or when the actual charge hits the account?

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#2202701 - 01/11/19 02:13 PM Re: Reg E Dispute Timeframe Question mdog76
Adam Witmer Offline
Power Poster
Great question, mdog76. I'm actually working on a comprehensive article on this topic that I will publish within the next few months.

In short, the way I see it is that "preauthorized amounts" are not a "transfer from a consumer's account" so the clock doesn't start until the transaction actually posts. Technically, you can also argue that the customer can't make a dispute until the charge actually hits the account, so the clock can't start until then either. That said, Reg E is VERY consumer friendly so it is important to dot your "i's" and cross your "t's" with your team who is managing this process.

All statements are my opinion, not those of my employer, and should not be taken as legal advice.
www.compliancecohort.com

Return to Top
#2202812 - 01/12/19 01:17 AM Re: Reg E Dispute Timeframe Question mdog76
David Dickinson Offline
10K Club
David Dickinson
Central City, NE
I agree. The account must have a debit (transaction post) before you can have a claim of an unauthorized transaction.

Return to Top
#2203165 - 01/16/19 07:41 PM Re: Reg E Dispute Timeframe Question mdog76
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
I'll harmonize with that tune.
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#2203205 - 01/16/19 09:31 PM Re: Reg E Dispute Timeframe Question mdog76
burkemi Offline
Platinum Poster