Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#2241932 - 09/02/20 04:01 PM Online Applications - Help
Refresher2020 Offline
I am new to the online application world. We are looking into using a vendor for online mortgage applications and some questions have arose.

1. Econsent - for a a joint application, each borrower must opt to econsent separately, correct? The application requests econsent but in 2 separate sections... This would require separate email addresses?
2. Credit Authorization - for a joint application - how does that work? Can the primary borrower authorize the credit pull for a joint application? It is assumed that the primary borrower is probably completing the application for both borrowers...
3. Applying for credit - again, can a joint application be completed by only one borrower?

I hope this makes some kind of sense... It is confusing to me for sure - that's why I'm asking for assistance in trying to figure out if this is all ok. The vendor says it is - and this is a reputable company but blind faith is not always solid.

Thank you for any/all input!

Return to Top
General Discussion
#2241951 - 09/02/20 08:08 PM Re: Online Applications - Help Refresher2020
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
I'll take a stab at this.

1. Most E-Sign compliant systems that I have seen are limited to one person - one e-mail. It is hard to differentiate between separate individuals using one e-mail account. Consent however involves the "demonstrable consent" handshake and not just completing a box on the on-line application.

2. If have an application for credit, you have a permissible purpose. No credit authorization is required.

3. Not sure how you would ever know, but if one applicant completed the application and put down a co-applicant that was a lie, then they have violated Federal law by providing false information for a loan made by a federal insured institution.

Return to Top