Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#2242481 - 09/15/20 09:05 PM Tips for reviewing existing Policies & Procedures
Refresher2020 Offline
I've been tasked with the annual review of our policies and procedures. Does anyone have any tips they want to share? I've never done this before and it seems like such an overwhelming task. I'm assuming I'd review them existing P&P versus the applicable regulations to see if there have been any changes to the regulations?

Return to Top
#2242487 - 09/15/20 11:10 PM Re: Tips for reviewing existing Policies & Procedures Refresher2020
BrianC Offline
Power Poster
BrianC
Illinois
Comparing them to regulation is a good start, but also interview staff tasked with following said policy and procedures to ensure that actual practices are reflected in those documents. It’s amazing how many audit and exam findings result from, “I heard we were supposed to...”

If you have a Compliance Committee I suggest taking this project to them so each department can evaluate the documents that apply to their area. If your bank does not have a compliance committee, now is a great time to form one.

Return to Top
#2242489 - 09/16/20 10:56 AM Re: Tips for reviewing existing Policies & Procedures Refresher2020
Refresher2020 Offline
Thank you BrianC!

Return to Top
#2242520 - 09/16/20 04:03 PM Re: Tips for reviewing existing Policies & Procedures Refresher2020
P*Q Offline

Power Poster
P*Q
Somewhere
Are you being asked to conduct a review only from a compliance perspective or are you being asked to be the only one bank-wide to review policies and procedures?

Return to Top
#2242581 - 09/16/20 09:45 PM Re: Tips for reviewing existing Policies & Procedures Refresher2020
Refresher2020 Offline