Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2130454 - 05/15/17 03:53 PM Bank Logo and Member FDIC
Compliance Lover Offline
Platinum Poster
Is it correct that if you have a bank logo doesn't include the bank's name, you wouldn't be required to include MEMBER FDIC on the advertising? Is there any difference in a flyer/brochure vs. a sign or billboard?

Return to Top
Marketing
#2130544 - 05/16/17 05:09 AM Re: Bank Logo and Member FDIC Compliance Lover
JC (Darth HMDA) Offline
Diamond Poster
JC (Darth HMDA)
CA
This is a strange question. Is this the Bank formerly known as Prince? smile

I'm new to advertising/marketing compliance but it seems strange you wouldn't have your name on a billboard, flyer, etc. In any case § 328.3(d)(5) states that if the advertisement does not set forth the name of the institution it would not be required.

That being said, I wouldn't want to make the case that your logo doesn't include your name so you don't need the disclose (as a symbol meant to be recognized by people and associated with the bank).

It doesn't take much space to just put "Member FDIC" at the bottom corner. Is your Marketing department fighting you on this?

§ 328.3 Official advertising statement requirements.

(a) Advertisement defined. The term "advertisement," as used in this part, shall mean a commercial message, in any medium, that is designed to attract public attention or patronage to a product or business.