Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#2249688 - 02/24/21 05:45 PM No geocode?
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am running through our final round of HMDA edits and I have a property that doesn't seem to have a geocode.

When I type the address into the FFIEC's system, it doesn't populate any data. Our mortgage department was able to get the information (I am trying to figure out how), but the FFIEC website is kicking the line out on the LAR stating that it isn't a valid census tract number.

If there is no census tract, do I just report N/A?

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249691 - 02/24/21 06:00 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Skittles Offline
10K Club
Skittles
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 13,859
TN
When this happens here we find the property on Google maps - and do a manual geocode in the FFIEC website to find the specific information.
_________________________
My Opinions Only

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249701 - 02/24/21 06:59 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Cowboys Fan Offline
Power Poster
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,574
SC
I find cross street that are close to the property and enter them in FFIEC (example: Oak St and Maple Lane, zip) then use the map to pinpoint the location of property.
_________________________

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249704 - 02/24/21 07:04 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Adam Witmer Offline
Diamond Poster
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,496
I would definitely use the manual function within the geocoding maps, after first finding it on Google maps, like Skittles and Cowboys Fan said. I've seen some banks try to use a census tract from an appraisal or other means, but ended up with problems as examiners came up with a different location. Keeping evidence from a manual geocoding map is the best option IMHO.
_________________________
Adam Witmer, CRCM

All statements are my opinion, not those of my employer, and should not be taken as legal advice.
www.compliancecohort.com

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249707 - 02/24/21 07:18 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Rocky P Offline
Power Poster
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,104
Florida
Check on the appraisal or survey. There may be an error in the address
_________________________
Integrity. With it, nothing else matters. Without it, nothing else matters.

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249708 - 02/24/21 07:18 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Skittles Offline
10K Club
Skittles
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 13,859
TN
Yes - I got burned once several years ago using another method. Won't do that again.
_________________________
My Opinions Only

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2249716 - 02/24/21 08:01 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Dan Persfull Offline
10K Club
Dan Persfull
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 46,232
Bloomington, IN
_________________________
The opinions expressed are mine and they are not to be taken as legal advice.

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2251044 - 03/23/21 05:57 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
GrannieTwo Offline
100 Club
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 180
Central IL
Plat books are wonderful to use also.
_________________________
For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2Cor 12:10

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2251045 - 03/23/21 05:57 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
GrannieTwo Offline
100 Club
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 180
Central IL
We us county plat books which are wonderful to use.
_________________________
For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2Cor 12:10

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2251856 - 04/06/21 01:40 PM Re: No geocode? Anonymous
Anonymous
Unregistered

New Streets in new developments makes this happen all the time. The FFIEC database is not updated often enough to keep with new streets continuously being added. You must know where the building is located on map. Then correlate that location on FFIEC's geocoded map to see what area the building is located in. The City or County often has more current addresses in their Assessor page, so I go there first, before I go to the loan officer and ask them where the heck the house is. I also take a peak at the Flood determination to see what they are showing, but I never take that as Gospel. Additionally, I tell the loan officer it's their loan, they should tell the poor processors what the geocode is. All too often it falls on Compliance to do correctly.

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
Quick Reply:
HTML is disabled
UBBCode is enabled




Moderator:  MagicCity, P*Q, Truffle Royale