Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2122766 - 03/20/17 11:53 PM Grandfathered Accounts - Fee Schedules
McFly Offline
I'm relatively new to my Bank and am working on a Reg DD change in terms notice, when I discovered that my Bank does not have an online fee schedule for account types that are no longer offered (aka grandfathered accounts). These grandfathered accounts have different fee structures that are known internally, but are not publically available. Currently, if customers with grandfathered accounts ask about fees, our customer service area provides this information to them, as required under Reg DD.

While not providing the fee schedule for grandfathered accounts is permissible under the regulations, it does seem problematic to me, as our customers with grandfathered accounts could be confused by looking at our fee schedule online for accounts that are currently offered, which have different terms.

Do other Banks post fee schedules for grandfathered accounts?

Thanks in advance BOL community for your insight.

Return to Top
Deposits and Payments
#2122779 - 03/21/17 12:50 PM Re: Grandfathered Accounts - Fee Schedules McFly
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
The timing requirement for account disclosures (including fees) are
* at account inception and
* upon request.

The first is of no concern to you as you do not offer these accounts any more, but the second might be. You are not obligated to consider the fact that it might be confusing to the customer if he or she cannot find the fee schedule for their account online. However, if they ask you for it, you need to hand it to them.

My recommendation would be to discontinue these accounts or send out a notification of a change in terms that would homogenize them with the accounts you are opening today.

Return to Top
#2122833 - 03/21/17 03:26 PM Re: Grandfathered Accounts - Fee Schedules McFly
McFly Offline
Thanks Ken for the insight.