Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2268056 - 03/22/22 08:08 PM Weighted Credit Scores on Joint Applications
Wendolene Offline
Wendolene
Utah
I have a question about a method of analyzing credit scores on a joint application. I'm not sure there is anything wrong with this proposed method of evaluating credit scores, but I want to make sure there isn't fair lending implications I'm not considering.

So the proposed method would be to weigh each borrower's credit score depending on the amount of income each borrower has. For example, if borrower A makes 75% of the total income, Borrower's A credit score will count more.

Any fair lending issues I may be missing with this?

Return to Top
Fair Lending
#2268059 - 03/22/22 08:44 PM Re: Weighted Credit Scores on Joint Applications Wendolene
burkemi Offline
Platinum Poster
I'm no FL expert by any means, but could this be a situation where Disparate Impact may occur?

How often will a Jane receive a higher rate just because a John makes more money? Especially if Jane could otherwise afford the loan on her own merit.

I would be interested in seeing feedback from the experts - especially if I'm off base.

Return to Top
#2268064 - 03/22/22 09:04 PM Re: Weighted Credit Scores on Joint Applications Wendolene
Rocky P Offline
Power Poster
Florida
If they are jointly liable, what would be the advantage, especially if the bank may occationally use a different method for a "great customer"? The Scenarios I've seen (mostly).
1 CB - use it
2 CB's - use the lower
3 CB's use the middle
When there are joint borrowers, 80% of the time it's the low of the 2 middle scores. A few banks average the middle score.