Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#2269663 - 04/26/22 07:15 PM CD / IRA Missing Documentation
Destiney Offline
New Poster
I'm looking for some guidance on how CD accounts are handled if you find that you are missing documentation when a new account is opened or if you are missing withdrawal documentation for IRAs? Do you place a hold on the account? Do you close it out after 'x' amount of days? Currently, my institution reaches out to the banker to get this corrected. After 30 days and if nothing has been received, we place a hold on the funds. I'm new to this world of operations and I'm wondering why we cannot just close it out? [b]I understand IRAs are handled differently[/b], but I see no reason why a CD cannot be handled in this manner? From a New Transaction Accounts perspective, if we're missing documentation that the customer hasn't gotten back to us, we close the account. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by Destiney; 04/26/22 07:57 PM.
Return to Top
Operations Compliance
#2269670 - 04/26/22 07:38 PM Re: CD / IRA Missing Documentation Destiney
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
A CD is one thing, but why would you open an IRA without everything being reviewed and approved? Closing an IRA has serious tax consequences for the customer and likely violates your fiduciary duties as a custodian. Sounds like you have lazy bankers and those are the people you need to get rid of and not your customers.

Return to Top
#2269734 - 04/27/22 07:58 PM Re: CD / IRA Missing Documentation Destiney
TaraSue Offline
What do you mean by missing withdrawal documentation? Are you saying you don't have signed requests for the withdrawal and the customer has already received the funds? I'd be escalating to the branch manager to start making those calls to get that customer in - they don't have much incentive to come in if they already got what they want.