Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2269802 - 04/28/22 07:38 PM Flood Insurance Timeline
BankLady011 Offline
This may seem like a Flood 101 question, but I'm a new Compliance Officer with a strong ops background, and not a lot of lending experience.

We have an internal discussion right now between a lender and our loan admin manager. We have a borrower that purchased flood insurance, but it was not a sufficient amount. The insurance was in place when the borrower went to the title company to close. When our internal loan admin got back all of documentation to fund the loan, she caught it was the wrong amount. The lender contacted the borrower, the correct amount was obtained, and then the loan was funded.

The million dollar question(s)... Was this a flood violation? By my understanding regulation stipulates insurance must be in place by loan closing. Is closing when the docs are signed or when the loan is funded? Nobody here can agree, so thought I'd get some other expert feedback. Thanks for the help!

Return to Top
Flood Compliance
#2269804 - 04/28/22 08:07 PM Re: Flood Insurance Timeline BankLady011
Dan Persfull Offline
10K Club
Dan Persfull
Bloomington, IN
Closing is when the documents are signed unless your state law stipulates differently.

The million dollar question(s)... Was this a flood violation? - Yes.

Return to Top
#2269805 - 04/28/22 08:15 PM Re: Flood Insurance Timeline Dan Persfull
BankLady011 Offline
That's what I thought.

Thanks!

Return to Top
#2269992 - 05/03/22 06:37 PM Re: Flood Insurance Timeline BankLady011
CRL Offline
Platinum Poster
CRL
Oh my, this is a great post... we have always required flood insurance to be in effect the date the loan "closes" which in our world has always been the date it "funded."