Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#2270327 - 05/11/22 06:00 PM International Debit Card Activity
ComplyGuy Offline
Gold Star
We've identified some questionable activity in our institution related to ATMs and debit cards used internationally.

Situation is basically that a customer has an account based in the United States. Deposits are being made by multiple methods, cash/check. But, a debit card is being used in a foreign country at ATMs making cash withdrawals. In some instances it is a joint account owner in the foreign country, but other times not. The amounts are typically small (1-2k/month), but still seems questionable.

It is my first time seeing this type of activity that was identified by our new AML monitoring system. Wondering if others have thoughts or ideas regarding these situations if you've seen them before. Should we prohibit this activity? Is it suspicious?

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2270338 - 05/11/22 07:16 PM Re: International Debit Card Activity ComplyGuy
ACBbank Offline
Power Poster
ACBbank
New York City
What foreign countries are you seeing the withdrawals in? We had a situation where some actors opened accounts and deposited small amounts of cash, maybe $2M-$3M a week and the funds were almost immediately withdrew in Ukraine. We shut them down and showed them the door.

We have other examples where funds are deposited in the US and cash is withdrawn in the EU and we generally have no issue with this. This could be vacation, kids studying abroad, someone who has a second home abroad, etc.

You will need to chat with your customer(s) to get more information to see if you should be concerned or not.

#2270346 - 05/11/22 07:51 PM Re: International Debit Card Activity ComplyGuy
ComplyGuy Offline
Gold Star
Appreciate the perspective. Also realized I forgot to logout before posting, oh well.