Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2273855 - 08/05/22 10:11 PM Right of Rescission
JonRiedel Offline
New Poster
Hi all,

I am a relatively new compliance officer and was hoping for some opinions on a right of rescission issue. We have a consumer that owns a mobile home and it is on a piece of land that she also owns (MH is not purged). Our bank actually has a loan against that real property and the current mobile home. The borrower has been approved for a new loan to purchase a new mobile home to put on the property. The new loan will completely payoff our current loan and will be secured by the real estate and the new mobile home (the old mobile home will not be collateral and is being removed from the land.) Does this qualify as an exemption as a residential mortgage transaction? A residential mortgage transaction is "a transaction in which a mortgage, deed of trust, purchase money security interest arising under an installment sales contract, or equivalent consensual security interest is created or retained in the consumer's principal dwelling to finance the acquisition or initial construction of that dwelling." I believe that there is no right to rescind in this circumstance because the loan is being provided to acquire the new principal dwelling...but others disagree.

Thanks for any help!

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#2273856 - 08/06/22 11:33 AM Re: Right of Rescission JonRiedel
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
You are correct. They are acquiring a new dwelling to be used as a principal residence. Just like buying a new house. Now, if you were also taking the old mobile home as collateral, then it would be treated as a bridge loan and would be subject to the right of rescission, but you said that was not the case. Since the mobile homes are still being treated as personal property, the land in this case is not a factor.

Return to Top
#2274488 - 08/19/22 09:38 PM Re: Right of Rescission JonRiedel
Compliance504 Offline