Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#2284016 - 05/02/23 11:52 AM ROR on a purchase
Shakes Offline
New Poster
We have a residential loan where the borrower is buying a new primary residence and we are taking both the new home and the borrower's current primary residence as collateral. The loan will be secured by both. It is my understanding that we will need to provide a ROR. I have mostly worked in California where everything is done through the title company. I am new to Massachusetts where attorneys are involved. There seems to be confusion on how to accomplish the ROR with a purchase. Wouldn't we just prepare all the documents (note, mortgage, disclosures, etc.) and have them signed with enough time to satisfy the 3 day ROR period prior to the and then wait and execute/record them (assuming the borrower doesn't rescind) on the planned purchase date? Is there something more complicated about it that I am not aware of? I am getting push back and feel like I must be missing something.

Return to Top
#2284018 - 05/02/23 12:10 PM Re: ROR on a purchase Shakes
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
If your attorney is confused, remember not to use them again. This is not a new scenario in the Bay State or anywhere else.

Yes, there is a RoR with regard to the mortgage on the current primary residence. Yes, you have a closing and hold the proceeds until the bank verifies the borrower has not rescinded during the rescission period. And in the Massachusetts banks I have worked in, the mortgages and deed for the new residence are typically held by the attorney and recorded once the rescission period is over and non-rescission has been verified.

Who is giving you pushback and what are they suggesting?
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#2284020 - 05/02/23 12:31 PM Re: ROR on a purchase Shakes
Shakes Offline
New Poster