Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#246753 - 09/20/04 07:56 PM Technie ? - Surge Protectors vs Power Strip
AnnRoy Offline
Platinum Poster
AnnRoy
South
From an IT standpoint (and also attempting my first branch PC IT review as non-technie), when trying to verify that surge protectors are present on the PCs and printers at the branch lcoations, what's the physical or visible difference between the surge protector and the power strip? And which is better and why?

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#246754 - 09/20/04 08:41 PM Re: Technie ? - Surge Protectors vs Power Strip
KrisH Offline
Gold Star
KrisH
Massachusetts
AFAIK, Surge Protectors usually have those circuit breaker reset buttons on them (since they are supposed to break the circuit when it detects a power surge). However, and I'm no expert by any means, it is my understanding that the standard $15 surge protectors you can buy at Walmart or Home Depot are not really going to protect your network from serious surges. You're better of spending $75-$100 for a decent UPS (Uninterruptable Power Supply) which includes surge protection (I recently bought two from APC for my home network myself).

But going back to your original question, I *think* you need to look for that circuit reset button to distinguish between power strip and surge protector. Please someone else chime in and correct me if I'm wrong.

Return to Top
#246755 - 09/20/04 08:41 PM Re: Technie ? - Surge Protectors vs Power Strip
blvsinangels Offline
Gold Star
If I am understanding you correctly the power strip would be more like a glorified extension cord. Something you can plug multiple things into, but provides no surge protection. The surge protection will keep an even flow of current to whatever you have plugged in, regardless of whether you have a surge or drain. However, on occasion when a surge protector receives a hit, you must replace it, make sure to check for that.