Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#249795 - 09/28/04 04:10 PM Advertising on a Customer's Web-Site
Anonymous
Unregistered

Help, I am in need of some direction. I am fairly new to compliance and senior management has asked to review and approve the following situation.

We have a business customer who is in the medical field and they want to include information about our bank on their web-site and the fact financing is available through us. They want to use our logo and describe program benefits if financing was obtained from us. It would include such terms such as “up to 100% financing, extended payment plans, no prepayment penalties, and convenient fixed, monthly payments.” There would also be included on the web page a payment estimate scale where there would be tiers of amounts financed with a range up to $5,000, the number of months, and a payment range based on rates from 7% to 9.5%. There would be a disclaimer at the bottom of the payment estimates section wherein it would be disclosed that the actual payment will be determined based upon the total amount of the loan plus the bank interest rate in effect at the time the loan is approved. The bank’s telephone number would be provided for more information about the program.

I would appreciate it if someone could tell me what I should be looking at to ensure this proposed type of advertising is compliant.

Return to Top
Marketing
#249796 - 09/29/04 12:47 AM Re: Advertising on a Customer's Web-Site
Anonymous
Unregistered

Wow - that sounds like a tremendous opportunity, but also a tremendous compliance headache! I would be very concerned about this info being on someone else's website. What if their website got infiltrated or if changes are made you do not know about? What if they do not post the proper disclosures? What if people click "contact us" thinking they are contacting the bank, but get someone else?