Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Thread Options
#283589 - 12/02/04 09:39 PM Ok...I'm Embarrassed..... But here goes!
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm over 55. I've had a hysterectomy about 10 or 11 years ago...never had any problems....took harmones for years...forget to take them now...most of the time....I still go for annual physicals....but I'm not sure why. I means there is nothing left to examine....its gone.....I don't feel like taking those harmones anymore, because I've had several cysts in my breasts over the years. They found a lump yesterday......I am concerned that it may be caused by the harmones and all my gyn says is they do more good than harm.....

Thoughts?

Return to Top
#283590 - 12/02/04 09:55 PM Re: Ok...I'm Embarrassed..... But here goes!
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am not an expert, so my first advice would be to go to one. But also the thought occurs that this is the time in your life when your hormone levels would naturally be decreasing, so I don't see why you would have to take the same dosage. There are a lot of studies on the risks & benefits of hormone replacement, but the decision should be between you & your doctor. Just make sure to follow up on the lump, don’t assume it’s a cyst just because you have had them before.

Return to Top
#283591 - 12/02/04 10:24 PM Re: Ok...I'm Embarrassed..... But here goes!
TTC Queen Offline
Diamond Poster
Oklahoma
I had a hysterectomy over 25 years ago. One year after my surgery, my doctor told me to assume the position on the table for the annual "pap". I said the same thing (among others,You have GOT to be kidding!, etc)--Why? There isn't anything left. He told me the test is to look for cervical cancer, which is very quick spreading. Every year, I tell the doctor--I got gypped. I thought I was not supposed to have to do this anymore!!