Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#31121 - 09/05/02 02:52 PM Alimony
Anonymous
Unregistered

When figuring a persons income can alimony be grossed up. The govt. allows us to gross up Social Security.

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#31122 - 09/05/02 11:05 PM Re: Alimony
Lucy Griffin Offline

Diamond Poster
Lucy Griffin
Yes. But so far, there has not been discussion requiring that. Because it is tax-free income, grossing it up is appropriate. Particularly if the applicant-recipient is low-income, grossing it up would be the best approach. Someday you might be asked why such income wasn't grossed up. If that question is asked in the context of fair lending, you could have a problem.

As an additional consideration, only gross up alimony that has been proved as reliable.

Return to Top
#31123 - 09/06/02 05:16 AM Re: Alimony
Princess Romeo Offline

Power Poster
Princess Romeo
Where the heart is
Um... I'm not a tax expert, but as I recall, alimony IS taxable income. Child support, on the other hand, is not.
Someone please correct me if I'm wrong on this.

Return to Top
#31124 - 09/06/02 11:55 AM Re: Alimony
NMB Offline
Gold Star
Southeast Michigan
We had an FDIC compliance exam recently and were criticized because one l mortgage lender did not gross up non-taxable income will others did.

Return to Top
#31125 - 09/06/02 12:43 PM Re: Alimony
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Bonnie, I agree, if you doubt it look at line 11 on a 1040. NMB really hit the nail on the head though - you have to make sure everyone is doing the same thing or you risk getting cross-wise in a fair lending exam.

Return to Top
#31126 - 09/06/02 01:39 PM Re: Alimony
Betty Banker Offline
Betty Banker
SD