Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#367756 - 06/03/05 03:22 PM Inside/Outside Ratio
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a seasoned CRA Officer and posting anonymously because I think I should know this answer but I can't figure it out.

I have many many many assessment areas, from huge Multi-State MSAs to small rural non-MSA areas. In previous exams, one Inside/Outside calculation was performed for the bank as a whole. In a more recent exam, the FRB performed an inside/outside calculation for each assessment area.

My question: How did they do that? I can calculate the number of loans made in a particular assessment area ("AA"), but what is the outside ratio? All other loans? That wouldn't make sense because some of them would be in another assessment area. Or, would the outside ratio be the same for each AA calculation, that being just all loans outside any of the assessment areas? Example: 25 loans inside AA#1. 30 loans inside AA#2. 10 loans outside any assessment area. Would the I/O calculation for AA#1 be 25/40? Or would it be 25/10? If the latter, then the I/O calculation for AA#2 be 30/10?

Aaarugh!! I know I could ask the regulator, but I don't want to. I'm losing sleep over this because I should be able to figure this out. Please help. I've ran out of under-eye cover.

Return to Top
CRA
#367757 - 06/03/05 03:52 PM Re: Inside/Outside Ratio
Luper Offline
100 Club
They may have set up separate assessment areas for each primary market. I used to do that when I worked for a large national bank.

Return to Top
#367758 - 06/03/05 06:48 PM Re: Inside/Outside Ratio
CRAatBOK Offline

Power Poster
Further South than I wanna be.
Luper, please share with us how you did this. I am with Anon, I have tried to figure a way to do it and has not done so yet.

Return to Top
#367759 - 06/03/05 08:03 PM Re: Inside/Outside Ratio
Luper Offline
100 Club