Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#370894 - 06/08/05 05:06 PM Doc. Prep.Fee, I think we have it wrong
Anonymous
Unregistered

On a closed-end, home-secured 5 yr. home equity loan we charge a $50 doc. prep. fee. It is disclosed on the GFE and the HUD-1 at line #1105. No POC is marked next to it.
On the note we are stating the loan amount is $10,000, but amount financed is $9,950.

I'm no expert, but to me it looks like we are calling the $50 fee a Pre Paid Finance Charge (PPFC) in one place (the note), but not in the other (the GFE and the HUD-1).

Help. Is this ok or do we have it wrong?

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#370895 - 06/08/05 05:10 PM Re: Doc. Prep.Fee, I think we have it wrong
Suwannee Offline
Platinum Poster
Suwannee
Florida
POC means "paid outside of closing." It does not mean that it is a pre-paid finance charge. If the borrower pays it at the closing of the loan, POC does not apply.

Return to Top
#370896 - 06/08/05 05:29 PM Re: Doc. Prep.Fee, I think we have it wrong
Anonymous
Unregistered

Thank you for the clarification. Let's say it is a PPFC (because they adjusted down the amount financed by $50 and increased the finance charge amount by $50), paid by the borrower at closing, is it listed at the correct line (1105) or should it be in the 800 series.

Return to Top
#370897 - 06/08/05 05:43 PM Re: Doc. Prep.Fee, I think we have it wrong
Suwannee Offline
Platinum Poster
Suwannee
Florida
Line 1105 is the line that some lenders and closing agents use to indicate charges to cover their costs of preparation of final legal papers, such as mortgage, deed of trust, note or deed. I would not think it would go in the 800 line series.

Return to Top
#370898 - 06/08/05 05:47 PM Re: Doc. Prep.Fee, I think we have it wrong
Cowboys Fan Offline
Power Poster
SC