Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#371610 - 06/10/05 02:00 PM Unreported Income
Anonymous
Unregistered

I see most of this forum seems related to residential questions, so maybe I'm in the wrong area. Please excuse me if this is the case. Newbie here.
I looking for clarification on the Bank's obligations, responsibilities and liabilities towards commercial applications from individuals obviously mis-representing their income to the IRS? Can these loans be approved without major consequences to the Bank? The Bank's legal counsel states the approval of such loans will not expose the Bank to any additional risks. Maybe I am just overly conservative but seems to me there could be additional risks to the Bank on closing such loans. Any advice, opinions and past experiences in this area would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#371611 - 06/10/05 02:57 PM Re: Unreported Income
Jokerman Offline
10K Club
Your attorney may be entirely correct about the legal risks, BUT if they lie to the IRS, do you think they'll have any trouble lying to you? I believe underwriting based on unreported income to be very questionable.

Return to Top
#371612 - 06/10/05 03:03 PM Re: Unreported Income
renniks Offline
Diamond Poster
renniks
New England
I agree with Jokerman and I think lending under those circumstances is questionable. Also, in these cases I also believe that a SAR should be filed. I attended a BSA conference the other day and the criminal investogator from the IRS told us that they review EVERY SAR that is filed and have caught many "tax cheats" this way. In your case, I think you are obligated to file a SAR on these people.

Return to Top
#371613 - 06/10/05 03:42 PM Re: Unreported Income
Anonymous
Unregistered