Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#400853 - 08/11/05 02:21 AM BSA independent testing
Anonymous
Unregistered

Does the annual BSA independent testing need to be done by a CPA? I'm new to this and the only internal auditor in the bank.

Return to Top
Audit
#400854 - 08/11/05 02:38 AM Re: BSA independent testing
Jokerman Offline
10K Club
There's no requirement that it be performed by a CPA, however, the users of the report (your examiners, externals, board) may believe it has more credibility if it is done by one. CPAs are required to perform their work according to certain standards of practice. Just the same, a non-CPA consultant may very well follow the same standards, and may even be better qualified to perform this specific review. That is something you would have to determine when selecting the firm.

Return to Top
#400855 - 08/11/05 12:20 PM Re: BSA independent testing
Retired DQ Offline
10K Club
Retired DQ
Turnpike Exit 10
No, but it has to be done by someone who is qualified. My qualification requirements would include years of BSA experience and auditing.

Return to Top
#400856 - 08/18/05 11:22 PM Re: BSA independent testing
Anonymous
Unregistered

I think if you are a quick learner than experience, certification, etc. is not needed. I think BSA is an easier audit than Rec CC, but be extremly careful. Your program/plan is critical and you want to perform extensive testing in high risk areas (CTR/Suspicious Activity). I have a program that was just reviewed by the examiners if you are interested. Email me @ jperello@iberiabank.com

P.S. - BSA is not required annually...some examiners do not know the reg.

Return to Top
#400857 - 08/19/05 02:07 AM Re: BSA independent testing
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
jperello - I guess I have to disagree with you on a couple of points.