Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#415754 - 08/30/05 01:56 PM CTR with No Information
LauraL Offline
Gold Star
Georgia
I will admit I am new at filing CTRs, so this baffles me. I hope someone has had this situation.

A construction worker (not our customer) comes into the bank and cashed an on-us $9,900 check from his employer, he later the same day cashed another on-us $9,900 check from his employer. He is not our customer, and besides the DL number written on the check that was cashed, I have no information on him.

I don't know his address or anything. Do I contact the construction company (his employer and our customer) and ask them for his information? What is the proper thing to do?

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#415755 - 08/30/05 02:08 PM Re: CTR with No Information
BrendaC Offline
Power Poster
BrendaC
Sweet Home AL
You should take reasonable steps to obtain the missing information. We would typically contact the employer and ask for contact information. Obviously care should be taken not to breach the customer's privacy during the conversation with the employer.

Sometimes you are able to utilize various search engines to obtain some of the info (such as an address) when you have a full name and general location. Be creative. We had one CTR to file and the teller had obtained most of the info we needed, but neglected to document the individual's occupation. After several unsuccessful attempts to contact the employer and the individual, we went to "Plan B". We suspected that he was contractor that handled home improvements. I found his telephone number on searchbug.com and called his home to see if he was a contractor. He was.

The next step is to look closely at the checks (consecutive numbers, dates, etc.) to determine whether you have a structuring situation that may warrant a SAR. A brief glance suggests that perhaps the employer worked together with this individual to structure.

Return to Top