Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#422641 - 09/14/05 09:28 PM Compliance Dilemma
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm not sure what category to post this question under, so I'm going to put it here.

Where do other compliance officers draw the line between being a compliance officer with compliance advice and giving legal advice???

I am an attorney, although I am now inactive and am not licensed in the state where I work. I have been out of law school for 20 years, and my legal jobs were spent doing more research and writing than practicing.

However, I often have "compliance" questions directed at me which I feel are better directed to the bank's attorney (none on staff--they have to pay him when they ask questions). I have told them when I don't feel the question is appropriate for me, but they still ask (sometimes I think it's just to save a buck since they have to pay me anyway!). I don't know how much I should be going through my state's statutes and interpreting them to give my employer an opinion. Researching and interpreting federal banking regulations that we could be examined on--yes, no problem with that. But how far should I be going with state statutes?

Return to Top
Chat! - BOL Watercooler
#422642 - 09/14/05 09:33 PM Re: Compliance Dilemma
D2Xs Offline
Power Poster
D2Xs
If you aren't comfortable with it you can do the research and give it to them and say this is what I found. Leave it to them to make the final decision and interpret it. I do compliance but some of the things I look up are legal. I just give my findings to my boss and tell him this is what I found. I leave it at that.

Return to Top
#422643 - 09/14/05 11:36 PM Re: Compliance Dilemma
berico Offline
Gold Star
California
That's how I ended up getting my license. I was the compliance officer (many, many years ago)and kept getting questions of a legal nature. I told them if they wanted legal advice, send me to law school. So they did.

Return to Top