Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#4343 - 09/05/01 09:54 PM Reg Z
Tina A Sweet Offline
Diamond Poster
Tina A Sweet
Marysville, Ca.
I am new in the lending regulations and I have a possible reimbursement due to APR, however since this is something I have not dealt with prior could someone let me know what exactly must be reimbursed?

Return to Top
General Discussion
#4344 - 09/05/01 10:35 PM Re: Reg Z
Al Miller Offline
Diamond Poster
Al Miller
Pleasanton CA USA
In extreemly simplistic terms, you must have understated either the finance charge or the APR (or both) to have to reimburse. You may have to refund (reimburse) finance charges already collected and may have to alter future payments (read that as reduce) to bring the APR or finance charges down to whatever you understated.

Reimbursement is a very complicated area. Unless you have done several, I would not try it without professional assistance, probably from a lawyer. I believe you are in CA. Give me a call and I can give you some names.

------------------
Al Miller, CRCM
Fremont Bank (CA)
(510) 790-5825
(510) 505-5211 FAX

Opinions expressed are my own and not necessarily shared by my employer.

Return to Top
#4345 - 09/06/01 02:49 AM Re: Reg Z
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
Tina, to get up to speed on all the lending rules, you might want to look at a Reg. Z or lending issues only school. The ABA has a good one that can be a part of their compliance school, or taken alone.

A state based program could also be useful for any state specific issues.

Like so many schools, you can get a lot out of it if you want. The advantage here is that you don't spend money on operations compliance if you are already strong in that area.

------------------
Andy Zavoina
Opinions stated are not necessarily that of my employer.

Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#4346 - 09/06/01 10:02 AM Re: Reg Z
Richard Insley Offline
10K Club