Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#474894 - 12/24/05 05:08 PM How to get formal bank credit training
WABanker Offline
New Poster
Hello, I am new to the board here, and i have a quick question if I may. I have been in banking for 5 1/2 years now, the last 1 1/2 I have been an Assistant Branch Manager, responsible for consumer lending and operations mostly. I want to move to commercial lending/banking, but every job lead I find requires at least 1 year of formal/bank credit analysis training. My credit analysis experience is limited to consumer lending. Does anybody have any ideas about where I can get my start in the commercial side of the business, entry level etc...or where i can get the training. My current employer has this line of business but there are NEVER any openings over there.

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#474895 - 12/24/05 08:42 PM Re: How to get formal bank credit training
flaire Offline
100 Club
flaire
sw us
ABA, ICBA and Kirchman all probably have classes. Check out their websites.

Return to Top
#474896 - 12/25/05 02:26 AM Re: How to get formal bank credit training
Kathleen O. Blanchard Offline

10K Club
Kathleen O. Blanchard
Formal training programs are few and far between although I understand Wachovia agan has a commercial training program.

RMA (Risk Management Association, formerly Robert Morris Association), has commercial courses available in a variety of formats. You can check at their website.
www.kaybeescomplianceinsights.com

Return to Top
#474897 - 12/25/05 05:36 PM Re: How to get formal bank credit training
Don_Narup Offline

Power Poster
Las Vegas Nevada
This sort of training at a bank will be difficult to come by these days. If you haven't had college level accounting classes consider taking some for credit.

There are a number of on line courses available here are a couple.

http://www.aba.com/Online+Courses/OLC_AFS.htm

http://www.bizhotline.com/html/financial_management__analyzin.html