Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#544914 - 05/08/06 09:11 PM Wire Transfer Test Keys
Popsicle Offline
I have been assigned the task of creating the internal audit program etc. from scratch, with lots of years of operations experience, but no hands on audit training. Having provided that preface, I am about to expose my ignorance and hope you all will be gentle! Wire transfer is probably the first audit they will have me do, so I'm studying my little hiney off, and came upon ICQ's about test keys. Apparently our bank does not use/require this, and I don't know exactly what test keys are, or if we should be doing this. Could someone give me a Test Key 101 course? I'd sure appreciate it, as I can't seem to find anything like a definition anywhere. Thanks!

Return to Top
Audit
#544915 - 05/08/06 11:38 PM Re: Wire Transfer Test Keys
Hrothgar Geiger Offline
10K Club
Hrothgar Geiger
Jersey Shore
Here is an example of how one might be used.

Return to Top
#544916 - 05/09/06 02:47 PM Re: Wire Transfer Test Keys
Popsicle Offline
Thanks Barbarian, this wire agreement mentions that the bank will provide the customer with a "Test Key Algorithm Value Table..." Where does this algorithm table come from? And how does it work? You know, maybe we are so small (<$100 million) that the wire volume we do would not indicate the need for test keys and I could stop hurting my head about it. What do you think?

Return to Top
#544917 - 05/09/06 04:45 PM Re: Wire Transfer Test Keys
Ms Auditor Offline
100 Club
Upstate NY
There are other controls that could be used instead of test keys, such as: call backs, passwords, passphrases, etc. Does your bank allow customers to call in wires or do they need to come into the office to sign a wire transfer form. In this case a test key as well as the controls I've listed might not apply.

Return to Top
#544918 - 05/09/06 07:03 PM Re: Wire Transfer Test Keys
Popsicle Offline