Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#587264 - 07/24/06 10:13 AM "Mom & Pop" MSB Enforcement Action
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
Last week, I attended a BSA/AML training session in Louisville where some of the bankers in attendance complained to the FinCEN representative that repetitive filings on unregistered MSBs were being ignored. Three days later FinCEN announced this enforcement action against an MSB that failed to register after repeated warnings, failed to establish an AML program, and structured transactions. Ironically, the MSB is in Louisville. (It wasn't "cause and effect;" the gestation period for an enforcement action is a lot longer than 3 days.)

Although I have no knowledge specific to this case beyond that obtained by reading the order, my assumption is that the order's existence refutes the idea that SARs on unregistered MSBs are going into a black hole.

In the alternative, consider the possibility that this MSB was located without the depositary bank filing SARs for structuring and failing to register. Do you think that the bank's failure to recognize the situation might be criticized in its next on site examination?

In terms of negative press for the bank, whether a national story on an obscure legal requirement ever appears in local media depends on what a reporter trips over. If the story is picked up by the local media, do you also think the reporter might be astute enough to find out where these folks bank and be kind enough to mention the bank in the article too? The questions would be simple: "Did your bank know they were an MSB?" "If so, did your bank document the account appropriately based on your regulator's written guidance?" (Remember, the bank would not be able to defend itself to the reporter by saying it filed SARs.)