Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#60359 - 02/11/03 02:42 PM HMDA - Purchases
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
For the first time, we purchased loans in 2002. (Not the servicing, the loans are ours.) So this is my first time reporting purchases on my HMDA LAR.

I can omit certain data such as race, sex and income. The seller provided us with some of this data, however. As an example, I have the borrowers race and sex, but not the co-borrower's. It is appropriate to report what I have, which could be misleading as it would appear there were no co-borrowers, or should I "NA" all of it, or is it purely optional?
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#60360 - 02/11/03 03:01 PM Re: HMDA - Purchases
Dan Persfull Offline
10K Club
Dan Persfull
Bloomington, IN
I believe you have the option. However, if you choose to report the info, I would suggest information not provided for the co-applicants instead of not applicable.

Page C-4 of GIR

(b)(2) Race or national origin, sex and income data may but need not be collected for:

(i) Loans purchased by the institution; or

Return to Top
#60361 - 02/11/03 03:34 PM Re: HMDA - Purchases
Pale Rider Offline
10K Club
Pale Rider
under the Lone Star
ditto on dpersfull, this is how we report purchased loans

Return to Top
#60362 - 02/11/03 03:40 PM Re: HMDA - Purchases
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
In reply to:

I would suggest information not provided for the co-applicants instead of not applicable.

But page 27 of GIR says that NA would be the appropriate codes, not that it wasn't provided.

That said, I have not reviewed all these files and would have a lower error rate if I "NA"d everything possible. Wouldn't this be the smarter move, albeit with less data to work with?
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#60363 - 02/11/03 03:53 PM Re: HMDA - Purchases