Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#607489 - 08/30/06 10:16 PM Internal audit access rights
Carolina Fan Offline
New Poster
North Carolina
I'm somewhat new to banking and haven't encountered this before. Our Internal Audit department's charter states that they have unrestricted access to people, systems, etc. Our process for granting system access is to have the application owner approve it, and then IT sets the authority in place.

Internal Audit says they do not need to have the application owner involved, and that their request to IT is sufficient, if their access is read-only. My concern is that a lot of damage can be done with read-only access. Additionally, Internal Audit is against having their access requests reported to the IT Steering Committee or Board.

I can understand if this is needed for a confidential manner. Outside of that, it seems like we're missing a proper control here. Am I off base? How do other bankers handle this?

Thanks!

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#607490 - 08/31/06 01:40 PM Re: Internal audit access rights
Lil'Auditor Offline
New Poster
Lil'Auditor
Virginia
As a small bank, it is the responsibility of each department manager to determine the IT user access privileges needed for the computer system. This request is then reviewed and approved by the IT Department Manager based on the individual's job responsibilities. If a request seems unusual the access will not be granted. As an internal auditor, I requested inquiry only privileges on everything.

Return to Top
#607491 - 08/31/06 02:30 PM Re: Internal audit access rights
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Internal Audit should have open access to "read-only" on all systems. Reporting their access should follow the normal channels, but approval is not an issue. The approval for individual access should lie with the Director of Internal Audit to validate the needs of the specific auditor.