Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Page 1 of 2 1 2
New Reply Thread Options
#614971 - 09/19/06 03:49 PM WHAT WOULD YOU DO?????
Anonymous
Unregistered

OK, so I work for a small community bank and I've been working toward Compliance Officer designation for a few years (heading up new programs, training staff, going to compliance school etc).

So my boss comes to me with an offer to promote me to Compliance Officer, but it is coupled with being BSA Officer too. I HATE *&#)@_$ BSA!!!

I would think that I would be spending 80% of my time on something I don't like. At the same time, it doesn't appear like I can separate the two and only be Compliance (although in the past different people have held those designations). Thoughts???

Thanks for letting me V E N T>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#614972 - 09/19/06 04:05 PM Re: WHAT WOULD YOU DO?????
Kelsey D Offline
Platinum Poster
Ohio
I'd take it, but I love BSA. Sick, huh?

#614973 - 09/19/06 05:31 PM Re: WHAT WOULD YOU DO?????
P*Q Offline

Power Poster
P*Q
Somewhere
Quote:

I'd take it, but I love BSA. Sick, huh?

Me too!

#614974 - 09/19/06 05:44 PM Re: WHAT WOULD YOU DO?????
Sing A Little Offline
Power Poster
Sing A Little
CA
A lot of smaller banks have their Compliance officer wear the BSA hat. If you don't enjoy BSA and you really think that it will be 80% of your job duties, you should think about how much you really want that Compliance Officer title. Do you enjoy what you're doing now? Would it be a step up in pay? These are things that I would ask myself before going forward.

#614975 - 09/19/06 06:06 PM Re: WHAT WOULD YOU DO?????
CRAatBOK Offline

Power Poster
Further South than I wanna be.
Maybe you should figure out what it is about BSA you don't like. Over all, I always found it pretty exciting. Maybe if you were in charge of it and had it running in a way you are comfortable with, you might enjoy it more.