Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#6353 - 11/08/01 05:08 AM Requiring spousal signatures
Wyogirl Offline
Platinum Poster
Wyogirl
Laramie, WY. USA
Help! I'm in a debate with a commercial lender who says the ECOA does not apply to him. (LOL) Seriously, he believes he can make spousal guarantees a condition of doing commercial loans, regardless of the ownership status of the collateral. I say the ECOA applies to any credit transaction, consumer and business. I'm a new Compliance Officer, he's an x OCC examiner, thus everyone believes him. Thanks for your help!

OPINIONS EXPRESSED BY ME IN THIS FORUM ARE ONLY MY OPINIONS, (OBVIOUSLY), NOT THOSE OF MY EMPLOYER!

Return to Top
General Discussion
#6354 - 11/08/01 05:25 AM Re: Requiring spousal signatures
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
Ask him why business loan requests get adverse action notices?

Certainly it applies. Look through the definitions in B as to whom it applies to.

You'll have issues on community property state or not and perhaps other state rules, but B applies.

As X OCC, was he compliance? Maybe we want him back if all the errors go our way.

------------------
Andy Zavoina
Opinions stated are not necessarily that of my employer.

Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#6355 - 11/08/01 05:55 AM Re: Requiring spousal signatures
William Offline
Gold Star
William
In a location
Well the ex-OCC examiner must have forgotten to read…

OCC- An Examiners Guide to Consumer Compliance

OCC-GCC - Equal Credit Opportunity Act -- 12 CFR 202

OCC-GCC - Requirements and History

The Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA) (15 U.S.C. 1691) became effective in 1975 and is implemented by the Federal Reserve's Regulation B ( 12 CFR 202).