Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#7145 - 11/28/01 05:00 AM Unreasonable request
BankerMama Offline
Diamond Poster
BankerMama
Must the bank turn over records before receiving payment for research if bank has been presented with a subpoena?

Return to Top
General Discussion
#7146 - 11/28/01 05:42 AM Re: Unreasonable request
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
I am not a lawyer, but I would believe so. The court is requiring those records in legal proceedings and the risk of telling a judge to wait while you are holding out your hand for payment first would seem like a bad idea to me.

------------------
Andy Zavoina
Opinions stated are not necessarily that of my employer.

Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#7147 - 11/27/01 07:35 PM Re: Unreasonable request
SteveG Offline
I agree ... but if it is a huge and expensive research job, we ask for an agreement to pay ... and if they refuse we go into court with a motion for protective order seeking payment against protection. We have been reasonably successful with this strategy.

Return to Top
#7148 - 11/28/01 06:30 PM Re: Unreasonable request
Anonymous
Unregistered

bwest: This can be a huge recurring problem. I know of a situation involving the collection of a bill for $1200.00 for records supplied in 1995! The case has been on appeal 2X and, hopefully, the court will finally throw the atty in jail next month for failing to pay for the records.

SteveG's advise is very good. I would add that you MUST consult w/your attys, as this issue is governed by state laws and civil and criminal rules for the conduct of litigation.

Some states (i) will not permit you to charge a law enforcement agency for the records, (ii) reqr that you submit the records 1st and, if your bill isnt paid, you must go to court to recover your fee.