Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#759451 - 06/22/07 09:20 PM compliance
KColbert Offline
New Poster
I am brand new to this type of position & have had very little training but have been in the banking industry for 7 years. Is there anyone that would have some advise as to what reg's should be top priority for me to learn & what are some key things for this position to know. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Return to Top
#759475 - 06/22/07 09:42 PM Re: compliance KColbert
ktac MITCH Offline
Diamond Poster
ktac MITCH
Giant side of TX
Welcome to the exciting world of compliance, nothing is the same every day!
I would say you should start by reading your banks last 2 exam reports and the last 2 audit reports. This will tell you where the weak spots were and you can make sure all findings have been addressed and corrected.

Next would be to review the risk assessments that your bank has in place - BSA/AML, CIP, An overall Compliance Risk Assessment. These will indicate where the higher risks are and hence, where you should concentrate at first.

Return to Top
#759578 - 06/23/07 01:04 AM Re: compliance KColbert
Richard Insley Online
10K Club
Richard Insley
Toano, VA
KTACmitch offers excellent advice. Other suggestions-
1. Get your eyes examined--you'll be doing a LOT of reading.
2. Attend the ABA's National Compliance School as soon as possible. (Yes, it's very expensive--but an enforcement action costs much more.) Nothing can jump-start a new compliance officer faster.
3. Spend some time with the sales and servicing staff in parts of your bank where you have not worked. (You can't understand the regs until you understand the products and services being regulated.)
4. Get a copy of your regulator's compliance examination manual and begin studying it. Mark the parts you don't yet understand & come back to them later.