Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#490793 - 01/31/06 04:03 PM Audit of Compliance department
blue Offline
Platinum Poster
I am new to banking and have been charged with auditing the compliance department. Since I don't know what all the regulations are much less which are the most critical, I could use some insights from those more experienced in banking than I am. Anyone will to share their thoughts? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Return to Top
Audit
#490794 - 01/31/06 04:27 PM Re: Audit of Compliance department
VirginiaBanker Offline
100 Club
As Compliance Manager, my department has been audited several time. The auditors looked at how we monitor for conpliance with such things as Reg D&Q, Reg E, HMDA, etc. BSA was also monitored in Compliance, so we went through a thorough audit of our reporting procedures. Additionally, they looked at all the audits we had done of different regulations and followed through to see if our findings had been corrected.

Return to Top
#490795 - 01/31/06 07:15 PM Re: Audit of Compliance department
YosemiteSamIAm Offline
Power Poster
Guess
It might be a good idea to start with a nice, hot bowl of "Alphabet Soup" from BOL!

Just click on it, determine which ones apply to your bank (check your bank's products against each regulation to see if that regulation applies) and then go to the tools section to see if there is an audit tool for the regulation you wish to audit.

You can also go to your regulator' website and see what their handbook says about how THEY audit a particular regulation.

Return to Top
#490796 - 01/31/06 08:13 PM Re: Audit of Compliance department
blue Offline
Platinum Poster