Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#80062 - 05/13/03 09:12 PM Risk Assessment
Anonymous
Unregistered

Could someone give me guidance on how to start the risk assessment procedure. I am with a community bank with $535 million in assets and 8 branches. I am new to audit and need help starting. I have a basic background in branch audits but not much else. I was told that FDIC would be here in September and am now "worried" to say the least....any help would be greatly appreicated. thanks.....

Return to Top
Audit
#80063 - 05/13/03 10:44 PM Re: Risk Assessment
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Are you referring to a general risk assessment for indentification and prioritization of your audit programs or are you referring to creating appropriate documentation for compliance with FDICIA (since you may have just crossed the $500MM barrier)?

Return to Top
#80064 - 05/14/03 01:14 PM Re: Risk Assessment
Anonymous
Unregistered

I would be happy to share my risk model with you e-mail me at "sriley@fnbl.com" with your address. Steve

Return to Top
#80065 - 05/14/03 08:25 PM Re: Risk Assessment
Anonymous
Unregistered

Both really. I have already established that I will start with basic branch audits quarterly but it ALL the other areas that I am concerned about. How do I know how often to audit different areas of the bank? I've been told that FDIC will be here in August....Any suggestions would be greatly appreicated....thanks

Return to Top
#80066 - 05/15/03 02:07 AM Re: Risk Assessment
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
If you just crossed the $500MM threshold and are subject to FDICIA and you haven't begun the process and you are asking these types of basic questions, you may need some help (More than that can be provided here or with some sample risk assessment procedures). I suggest contacting a reliable consulting firm.

Return to Top
#80067 - 05/17/03 05:28 AM Re: Risk Assessment
Princess Romeo Offline

Power Poster
Princess Romeo