Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#825426 - 09/28/07 01:30 PM Report or Review after External Audit
petcat Offline
Tennessee
I am new to this job with almost no training and need some help. We are a very small bank so I am the only Compliance person here. When I took the job we talked about all the audits I would be doing. Now, management has decided to stay with our external auditor and that frees me from most of the audits. If I understand correctly, I think that I am supposed to prepare a report on the findings from the external auditor to present to the Audit Committee. I was able to struggle thru a couple of audits by reviewing past audits and setting them up the same way, but I have never seen this type of report and don't know where to look for an example. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Return to Top
Audit
#825433 - 09/28/07 01:35 PM Re: Report or Review after External Audit petcat
A_G Offline
10K Club
When you say "external auditor" are you really referring to an external auditor? Like for financial statement purposes?

Or is this an external audit firm who performs your internal audit function.

Return to Top
#825471 - 09/28/07 02:08 PM Re: Report or Review after External Audit A_G
petcat Offline
Tennessee
It is an external auditor who performs our internal audits. He just finished a BSA audit and I need to prepare something for the Board.

Return to Top
#825479 - 09/28/07 02:14 PM Re: Report or Review after External Audit petcat
A_G Offline
10K Club
He should be preparing the report after the audit. That's what you are paying him for.

Return to Top
#825480 - 09/28/07 02:14 PM Re: Report or Review after External Audit petcat
ktac MITCH Offline
Diamond Poster
ktac MITCH
Giant side of TX
You engaged an outside firm to perform a BSA/AML audit therefore, their report should be addressed directly to The Board (or committee thereof)because The Board is ultimately responsible for BSA.