Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#888400 - 01/16/08 02:53 PM Employee Account Statement Reviews
kendrar Offline
Gold Star
I am very new to this position - I have done audits before but they have been mostly financial statement related audits. I am the internal auditor and one of my tasks is to review employee account statements each month. In my reviews I have found a number of employees making numerous cash deposits into their accounts. I noted this in my audit report and, as suggested by the CEO/President and the Executive Vice-President, was going to recommend that the employees who deposit cash into their accounts indicate the source of cash on the deposit tickets. That has met with much opposition from some of the branch managers that have to make management responses to my findings. It is my understanding that bank employees should be held to higher standards than the rest of our customers. I am just wondering what other internal auditors do in regards to employees depositing cash into their accounts. Also, what other procedures should I do to determine that the cash that the employees deposit into their accounts is appropriate? I am looking for any guidance here, please do not feel like you will be saying something that I already know - I am extremely new to the banking world - only worked at a bank for approximately 3 months. I need some help and understanding in this matter.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Return to Top
Audit
#889040 - 01/16/08 10:59 PM Re: Employee Account Statement Reviews kendrar
stuckonZ Offline
New Poster
First of all, I didn't realize auditors still reviewed employee accounts. Obviously this is a delicate situation. As a 20 yr auditor and a former GA at a large regional, I would suggest strongly that you keep the results of your testing to yourself and investigate unusual activity only when necessary. There is nothing that says employees can't or shouldn't deposit cash in any Reg or state law that I know of.