Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#985835 - 07/01/08 05:23 PM Fair Lending Audits
Tiggerpooh Offline
New Poster
I am new to compliance and have been assigned to conduct a fair lending audit. Can anyone give me some direction or a resource that would give some guidance in how to start the audit, select files, and conduct the audit?? All input is appreciated!!!

Thanks!!
Last edited by Klopferc; 07/01/08 05:24 PM.
Return to Top
#985896 - 07/01/08 05:59 PM Re: Fair Lending Audits Tiggerpooh
CalifDreamin Offline
Diamond Poster
CalifDreamin
Far from Calif
The best thing you can do is to start here and read Side By Side: A Guide to Fair Lending. Also, doing a search on BOL will be good too.
Always
Say
A
Prayer
<><

Return to Top
#986251 - 07/01/08 09:08 PM Re: Fair Lending Audits Tiggerpooh
Reads Regs Offline
Diamond Poster
Have you seen the interagency fair lending exam procedures? Here's a link to an OTS regulatory bulletin that contains them. http://www.ots.treas.gov/docs/7/74829.pdf It is an 87 page document.

Return to Top
#986370 - 07/02/08 12:39 AM Re: Fair Lending Audits Reads Regs
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
I would caution anyone that is going to do a fair lending audit that it be approached in a very well planned manner. The Audit Committee should be actively involved up front with full knowledge of the process and scope and a plan for corrective actions. The last thing you want is to do a review and find something and not have the Board of Directors on board. Legal counsel involvement is also not a bad idea.

Then, I would highly recommend that you stick with the FFEIC examination guidelines:

http://www.ffiec.gov/PDF/fairlend.pdf

http://www.ffiec.gov/pdf/fairappx.pdf

You need to perform the risk assessment process and document in good detail. You need to use the risk assessment in order to select your actual focal points.

You don't what to just say - hmmmm - let's see - let's test for this.