Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#98948 - 07/21/03 12:59 PM Penetration Testing
etm614 Offline
Platinum Poster
etm614
Massachusetts
I am not a techie, but have been asked to give my opinion on a proposed alternative to the annual penetration testing recommended by our examiners. Perhaps, you can all enlighten me. IT plans to contract for a managed IDS in addition to our managed firewall in lieu of penetraiton testing. I think that I have convinced them that the examiners will still require penetration testing; however, they are proposing to use the vulnerability testing services offered by the same vendor. I have concerns about using the same vendor relating to independence. With the managed systems that we have, does it lessen the extent of penetration testing recommended by examiners? Also, does anyone else have an insurer who insists on quarterly penetration testing? Thanks.

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#98949 - 07/21/03 02:06 PM Re: Penetration Testing
Anonymous
Unregistered

It doesn’t matter if the managed firewall and the IDS are outsourced, penetration testing is still required, i.e. the existence of an IDS does not absolve the need for penetration testing. Depending on your exact configuration, your service provider will contract for the penetration testing with an independent third party testing firm and pass the results of the testing to you in the form of a “certification” of “attestation” that their defenses have passed or not. The firm providing the pentration testing for your service provider should be reputable, independent, and qualified – but you may not have control over this.

You should review your contract with your service provider to ensure that periodic qualified penetration testing is included with a periodic reporting requirement. Under no circumstances should you contract for penetration testing without coordinating with your service provider – big obvious problems.