Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#2163998 - 02/10/18 05:25 PM Docusign
MonkeyMan Offline
New Poster
I am a loan officer. I am getting more and more requests to use docusign from my clients. I have approached my bank numerous times and keep getting the excuse “we cannot use docusign because we may securitize the portfolio in the future”. This is costing me volume at this point and getting actual signatures is some times difficult. Would docusign actually be an issue if we did securitize the portfolio? My suggestion was to carve out this small piece of the portfolio from the securitization. Any insight would be appreciated.

Return to Top
General Discussion
#2163999 - 02/10/18 05:44 PM Re: Docusign MonkeyMan
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
“we cannot use docusign because we may securitize the portfolio in the future”

You would have to ask them the basis for this statement. FNMA accepts electronic signatures as long as they comply with ESIGN and the UETA adopted by the state in which the signature is applied. I am not sure why an E-Signature would jeopardize a future securitization of the portfolio.

Return to Top
#2164003 - 02/10/18 07:53 PM Re: Docusign MonkeyMan
Richard Insley Offline
10K Club
Richard Insley
Toano, VA
Originally Posted By MonkeyMan
securitize the portfolio
What kind of loans are in this portfolio--consumer mortgage loans, only?

Obviously, you would use docusign (or a similar software product or service) to transmit the documents (notes, D/T's, other contract documents, and federal disclosures) to be signed or acknowledged. As Randy advises, that means you must be ESIGN compliant for delivery of the federal disclosures and UETA or ESIGN compliant for delivery of the contract documents. Before accepting any of these documents at face value, potential investors will have to approve the way you handled the consumer's consent and e-delivery of the e-documents.