Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#2210965 - 04/12/19 02:35 PM Why do banks seem to hate credit unions?
WillyWonka Offline
Midwest USA
I'm still relatively new to banking, but it seems like there is a genuine hatred for credit unions around here from the management - apparently there's an unfair playing ground with advantages that credit unions get. I even see that the Iowa Bankers e-newsletter today has "The IBA is calling on all Iowa bank executives, directors and staff to counteract the credit unions’ advocacy efforts".

Anyone willing to break it down for me?

Return to Top
Chat! - BOL Watercooler
#2210966 - 04/12/19 02:48 PM Re: Why do banks seem to hate credit unions? WillyWonka
TMatt87 Offline
Diamond Poster
TMatt87
Idaho
Just some of the reasons I've heard:

1. Credit unions pay no income tax, so they get an automatic 21% leg up (even higher before the recent tax cuts).
2. The NCUA is largely seen as the most lax regulator.
3. Credit unions have exceeded their original purpose of servicing those individuals or areas not served by traditional banking (poor, rural areas)
4. Credit union field of membership criteria has expanded to the point of "if you have a pulse, you can be a member"

And the most obvious reason, as you alluded to, credit unions take business away from banks in a non-competitive environment (in the bank's view).

Return to Top
#2210972 - 04/12/19 03:19 PM Re: Why do banks seem to hate credit unions? WillyWonka
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
They are also not subject to the Community Reinvestment Act.

Return to Top
#2210979 - 04/12/19 03:51 PM Re: Why do banks seem to hate credit unions? WillyWonka
RockChucker, CAMS Offline
Diamond Poster
The Country