Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1963588 - 09/22/14 04:23 PM CTR's filed after Exemption
AUTigers65 Offline
Is it a "violation" of any kind if a Bank (mistakenly) continues to file CTR's on a customer after the DOEP has been sent in and acknowledged? There has been a suggestion that it seems to go against the "must file the DOEP within 30 days of first exempted transaction" requirement. But my thinking is that the requirement was made to ensure that no CTR's were NOT reported that should have been. Continuing to file them suggests a breakdown in process, but not a big deal. I may have to argue this point.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1963590 - 09/22/14 04:31 PM Re: CTR's filed after Exemption AUTigers65
devsfan Offline
Diamond Poster
NYC
I am not an expert on this but I would think that filing CTRs after designating the customer as exempt could be considered as revoking the exemption so if you do want them exempted you should probably file another DOEP. I would welcome other opinions.

Return to Top
#1963711 - 09/22/14 08:08 PM Re: CTR's filed after Exemption AUTigers65
AUTigers65 Offline
Update to this: you were correct devsfan. Good job! I verified it with FinCEN's Reg helpline. According to the Rep, filing any CTR's after the DOEP has been filed automatically revokes the exemption.

Return to Top
#1963731 - 09/22/14 08:45 PM Re: CTR's filed after Exemption AUTigers65
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
Which really puts a fine point on it. You need to coordinate your filing of DOEPs with anyone in the organization responsible for filing CTRs, or control those CTR filings yourself.
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#1963780 - 09/23/14 12:43 AM Re: CTR's filed after Exemption AUTigers65
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
According to the Rep, filing any CTR's after the DOEP has been filed automatically revokes the exemption.