Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#2019603 - 06/10/15 07:09 PM Attorney Issuing Cashier's Checks from IOLTA
Anonymous
Unregistered

I know that attorneys are responsible for keeping track of transactions out of their IOLTA accounts and the way to do that is by writing checks. We have one attorney who will go the branch and instead withdraw from the IOLTA account and issue multiple Cashier's Checks to one of his clients. The client then goes to the branch and cashes them at different times. The individual amounts are large enough to warrant a CTR and they are filed regularly but I'm wondering why he would disburse the funds in this way to this one client? An internet search shows his client has been charged with stealing money from elderly associates.
Maybe I'm looking into this too much but I find it odd that he's conducting the transactions like this for one particular client and since I'm not an expert in IOLTA accounts I don't know if this is a way to hide or layer the disbursements to a individual who's currently charged with stealing from others.

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2019632 - 06/10/15 07:53 PM Re: Attorney Issuing Cashier's Checks from IOLTA Anonymous
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
You're right, that's incredibly odd. Is there any way you can match the money going out to funds coming in; e.g. the client received $30,000 in disbursements in a 30 day period, are there funds from a single source coming into the account from another person or entity in the same time frame that approximate that amount?

In other words, could the attorney be acting as the paymaster for an identifiable third party?

P.S. It could be more than one entity or individual making the deposits; i.e. the account could be being used as a "funnel" to aggregate payments from several sources. Look for recurring checks from one or more sources.