Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#2251084 - 03/23/21 11:19 PM I just forgot how to do a CTR!?!
Anonymous
Unregistered

I feel like I am taking crazy pills.

Person A makes a payment on joint credit card with Person B for $11k. CTR required, both people benefit.

However, same day, Person A makes a $5k deposit into an account that she shares with Person C and Person D.

So the CTR should show Person A as conducting on own behalf for $16k; Person B receives benefit of $11k; Person C receives benefit of $5k; and Person D receives benefit of $5k. Correct?

I thought the CTR FAQs addressed this directly, but I am only finding out how to handle it when joint owners both receive over $10k in benefit and different conductor scenarios.

I have been doing this for many years-- but today my mind has totally blanked. Help!

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2251131 - 03/24/21 05:15 PM Re: I just forgot how to do a CTR!?! Anonymous
BrianC Offline
Power Poster
BrianC
Illinois
You always aggregate deposits made by or on behalf of the same person.

In this instance we have $16K brought in by the same person so we must include all individuals on whose behalf those transactions were conducted which means four Part I's as you have illustrated.

Person A - Box 2a
Persons B-D all Box 2c

You have the amount breakdowns correctly. Lastly you only check "multiple transactions" for Person A since none of the other individuals in Part I were part of more than one transaction.

#2251167 - 03/24/21 07:41 PM Re: I just forgot how to do a CTR!?! Anonymous
GrannieTwo Offline
100 Club
Central IL