Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2269558 - 04/22/22 08:00 PM Individual Commercial Applications
referwithcaution Offline
I am back for a second question. I will spare the introduction, but I am new to both HMDA and Banking (less than 1 year).

I have a commercial loan application to an individual. It is a renewal of a 1-4 single family investment property. I have enough experience to at least know that we report DTI for HMDA purposes, but the credit decision for all of our commercial applications is based on DSC rather than DTI. This is true also for individuals acting primarily in a business or commercial manner.

I have not looked at DSC since college, but do know that there is not a significant enough correlation for a quick/on-the-spot adjustment.

My main question is does this mean that I am required to manually calculate the DTI based on a CBR and TR? This seems contradictory to me, as this is not reporting. If this is more of a policy question, I can certainly reach out to my supervisor. I would just like some clarity beforehand.

Thank you in advance!

Return to Top
HMDA

HMDA Academy
#2269561 - 04/22/22 08:17 PM Re: Individual Commercial Applications referwithcaution
Melissa S Offline
Gold Star
Melissa S
Maine
The instructions for DTI state

Enter "NA" for: Transactions for which the credit decision was made without relying on debt-to-income ratio. This can be found in 1003.4(a)(23)-4.

I work with commercial HMDA reportable loans and always enter NA in DTI as we also utilize DSC and not DTI.

I would strongly recommend this document, which is updated every year, as your guide in gathering info and completing the reporting process! It a HMDA Reference chart, complete with links to the regulation and comments for each line item.

https://files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_2022-reportable-hmda-data.pdf

Return to Top
#2269564 - 04/22/22 08:27 PM Re: Individual Commercial Applications Melissa S
referwithcaution Offline