Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2232476 - 03/05/20 08:36 PM One time Closing Construction to Perm Loan
bhazzard Offline
100 Club
Good Afternoon,

I am fairly new to the world of lending compliance as my background was always BSA, recently my role changed and I am now tasked with becoming the real estate secured lending guru for our institution. . I have read every thread I can find and read through the Reg. I want to make sure I am interpreting this right before I provide my advice.

The question posed was "Can we collect the initial escrow deposit at closing and then suspend the collection of escrows during the construction phase? If so, can escrow analysis be suspended as well during this period? Information from our industry sources indicate this is possible. Reading through TRID, and RESPA, noting specifically addresses this aspect. Currently we establish escrows when the loan moves to the permanent phase. This causes several challenges customer and system wise that we would like to eliminate."

My thoughts are that no we cannot do this, it would violate the pre-accrual rules in RESPA. There are limitations set forth on escrow accounts in RESPA and one is "The servicer shall not practice pre-accrual." What they are asking to do does qualify as pre-accrual correct?

Thank you for any and all input.

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#2232479 - 03/05/20 08:48 PM Re: One time Closing Construction to Perm Loan bhazzard
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX