Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#29503 - 08/26/02 07:26 PM COMPLIANCE
Anonymous
Unregistered

I AM NEW TO THE COMPLIANCE FIELD AND JUST WONDERING IF THERE IS READING MATERIAL THAT ANYONE COULD RECOMMEND?

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#29504 - 08/26/02 07:32 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
Bartman Offline
Diamond Poster
Bartman
Springfield
Go to www.kirchman.com, and look up the Big Orange Book under the regulatory compliance section. It covers a lot of territory, and (despite its size), is pretty user-friendly.

Return to Top
#29505 - 08/26/02 08:05 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
ahou Offline
Power Poster
ahou
Absolutely go to the Kirchman web site. Their Big Orange Book (BOB) is written in plain language. They have a great sense of humor too!

Return to Top
#29506 - 08/26/02 08:08 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
I would also recommend a reading of the regulations and commentaries. That is how you know what is there and how to find it when you need it.
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#29507 - 08/26/02 09:07 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
Anonymous
Unregistered

Both the FDIC's and the Federal Reserve's Website have links to the regulations. They have been helpful to me.
www.fdic.gov
www.federalreserve.gov/Regulations/

Return to Top
#29508 - 08/27/02 01:21 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
Suwannee Offline
Platinum Poster
Suwannee
Florida
I agree with reading the regulation. While the Kirchman site has things in plain language, I find that most often I need to find it in the actual regulation to back myself up. When I can quote the section and paragraph of the reg, people know that I am right in what I tell them. If you read Kirchman first, it might help you to understand the regulation a little better.

Return to Top
#29509 - 08/27/02 01:35 PM Re: COMPLIANCE
David Dickinson Offline
10K Club
David Dickinson
Central City, NE
My library material consists primarily of the:
Regulations,
Regulatory memo's,