ACAMS exam

Posted By: CC Gem

ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 04:47 PM

I am studying for the exam and was wondering, for those who have taken it, any advice? Does the practice test in the study guide represent the actual questions? Anything you would focus on more or less? Any tricks or tools you found helpful.

Stressin' out here!
Posted By: edAudit

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 04:55 PM

Does the practice test in the study guide represent the actual questions? yes

If you are fully versed in US BSA study on the international part that is not part of your daily routine.
Posted By: MagicCity

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 05:42 PM

Know about FATF and their recommendations.

On the multiple choice questions, if you are not sure, do process of elimination.

Don't think too much on your personal opinion/experience on some of the Money Laundering questions... think more global.
Posted By: MagicCity

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 05:43 PM

..and Good Luck!
You'll do fine.

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 05:55 PM

Thanks! I have a feeling I am anticipating it being more difficult than it is. I took the practice test in the study guide and scored 98% so I am hoping it is similar.
Posted By: Liz O

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 06:24 PM

I am also studying for the CAMS. Thanks for the tips, everyone!
Posted By: NanaK

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 08:05 PM

Do any of you have any ammunition/back up that I could use to justify my bank agreeing to pay for the ACAMS? Or am I the lone ranger and every other bank out there is happy to pay for all sorts of training and certifications for its employees?

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 08:12 PM

I put together a Powerpoint Presentation explaining what ACAMS was, the general benefits of ACAMS, the specific benefits to the Bank, specific benefits for analysts, how much it would cost, and how much other banks have paid in fines for not having adequate AML controls.

That worked for me. smile

Re: ACAMS exam - 10/29/13 08:12 PM

I would quote the four pillar of BSA.