Need some quitting tobacco advice

Posted By: raitchjay

Need some quitting tobacco advice - 08/20/14 03:42 PM

I need some advice/help please. I just read an article about Kurt Schilling (former MLB pitcher) and his battle with oral cancer. He states that he has no doubt it was caused by his tobacco use. The article talks about how the cancer was similar to that of football HOFer Jim Kelly's battle with cancer. For some reason, this time, the articles really spoke to me...."this is gonna be you dummy, if you don't quit dipping".

I need some advice on doing so. I've been dipping for over 30 years. The longest i've ever gone without is no more than a day. Do i try cold turkey? Do i try to do it gradually? Do i buy patches? I have 7 or 8 full cans currently (i dip a can a day). I just know...i need to do something about this....i don't want to get cancer from something that i could totally prevent...if i'll just man up and do it. Thanks for any advice.
Posted By: #Just Jay

Re: Need some quitting tobacco advice - 08/20/14 03:48 PM

Just man up and stop. Fail a day or two, then stop and just start over again.

Don't look down the road or a future with or without, just look between the start and end of each day, and concentrate your efforts on each day as its own. Success will be when they build on top of each other and a new habit of without has been formed.
Posted By: MB Guy

Re: Need some quitting tobacco advice - 08/20/14 03:48 PM

Not sure what the best plan is, but I applaud you for taking the steps to quit. Best of luck Sir.

Re: Need some quitting tobacco advice - 08/20/14 03:55 PM

Thanks guys. Cold turkey sounds good....I just doubt my ability to do it. It's not going to be easy..i know that.
Posted By: Skittles

Re: Need some quitting tobacco advice - 08/20/14 03:59 PM

When I quit smoking I went cold turkey. I don't think anything else would have worked for me. And just think one day at a time, otherwise it could be even more overwhelming.