Purchaser Type Clarification

Posted By: referwithcaution

Purchaser Type Clarification - 07/15/22 04:10 PM

We have recently began underwriting loans sold on the secondary market, specifically to Wells Fargo Funding, a Division Of Wells Fargo Bank; Franklin American Mortgage Company, a Division of Citizens Bank; and First Community Mortgage.

This has led to a bit of confusion on my part for Purchaser Type and this is one of those data points that I have difficulty in finding information on. From what I understand, these loans should be coded as Mortgage Company – 71 even though they are a “Division” of a Bank.

I am still new to this position, so any insight on the differences in Types of Purchaser codes would be beneficial.
Posted By: Truffle Royale

Re: Purchaser Type Clarification - 07/19/22 04:56 PM

this post may be old but it's what I've been doing all along.

Re: Purchaser Type Clarification - 09/16/22 08:25 PM

I am, unfortunately, still having some issues here. I cannot find any appropriate "code" that I can report for the entities in which we sell loans to. I have used the sites given in the other post, but it gives somewhat basic information.

I understand that alot of HMDA is grey area, but can't there be a list of HMDA codes for purchasers of mortgages that can be referenced? Does anyone know of one somewhere?

I apologize if the answer is somewhere and I have overlooked it. This is an item of concern that I have been looking to resolve for some time.
Posted By: rlcarey

Re: Purchaser Type Clarification - 09/16/22 11:14 PM

Well, you can come down to brass tact and just tell us who you are talking about and people can weigh on how they report them and why. I am not sure there are any secrets about who buys loans in the secondary market.

Re: Purchaser Type Clarification - 09/19/22 08:42 PM

Wells Fargo
Franklin American Mortgage Company
First Community Mortgage